19 Things for Hamden Hall

Week 1: Introduction

Posted on: April 18, 2011

Welcome to Week 1 of 19 Things for Hamden Hall! (If you want to know what this is all about, click here.)

Week 1 is your Introduction to this project. All you have to do this week is:

1) Register for a WordPress account. This account will allow you to comment on these blog posts. You may also want to use your WordPress blog later on, either as an individual blog or as a place to share with your students. See below for detailed instructions on how to do this.

2) Comment on this blog post, so that we know you’re here! Let us know:

  • what you’re hoping to get out of 19 Things for Hamden Hall
  • if there is a particular tool you’re hoping to cover

How to register for a WordPress account:

WordPress is a web-based blogging platform. Some others are Blogger (Google’s blogging site), Edublogs (like WordPress, but built for school use),  and Tumblr (best for short, frequent posts).

To set up an account with WordPress, you can use any username and password you want. Just make sure it’s something you will remember! You will be using this account to comment on these posts, so try to pick a username that will clearly indicate who you are.

You will be asked to choose a name for your blog – but don’t stress out about it, because you won’t be using your own blog right away, and you can always change the name later. If you need help with the sign-up process, let me know!

We’ll talk more about blogging next week, so don’t worry too much about how it works this week – we’ll get to all that!

For your reference, here is the schedule for the coming weeks:

Week 1: Introduction

Week 2: Writing & Sharing (April 27)
Blogging
Wikis
Google docs
LiveBinders

Week 3: Research & Using the Internet (May 4)
Digital citizenship
Advanced web searching
Creative Commons
Wikipedia
Skype
Flickr

Week 4: Presentations (May 11)
Glogster
Voicethread
Voki
Podcasting

Week 5: Productivity (May 18)
Diigo
Dropbox
Evernote

Week 6: Learning (May 25)
Professional Development resources
Twitter

20 Responses to "Week 1: Introduction"

I look forward to increasing my technology knowledge.
The upcoming tutorials about skype and blogging are of particular interest to me.

Monica, I’m so happy you’re participating! I know you will get a lot out of this.

I already have! I am sending you a reply. 🙂

I count 21 things. Is this a trick again?

The topics in the conclusion don’t count as things! The things are the tools. And may I guess….is this Frank?

Totally looking forward to this! Particularly excited about the idea of integrating a blog into course curriculum, and finessing my extremely limited knowledge of wikis and googldocs, etc.

Hi! We will be covering all of those things in the coming week, so I hope you enjoy! Thank you for joining.

I am here as well. I have never blogged so I am interested in how this all works.

Hi! Thank you so much for doing this. I hope you get a lot out of it.

Hi Sarah!
I am looking forward to developing a personal/professional blog. This is great. Thanks for this!

Thank you for joining us! I think it will be fun. 🙂

Just trying to see if I changed my avatar here.

Well that was fun!!!

I’m a little behind on this, but hewre I go…

You’re right on time!

And I can’t type.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 29 other followers

